Active Users - 822

Health Categories & Therapies
Chakra Balancing

What is Chakra Balancing?

The chakras are described as being aligned in an ascending column from the base of the spine to the top of the head. In new age practices, each chakra is associated with a certain color. In various traditions chakras are associated with multiple physiological functions, an aspect of consciousness, a classical element, and other distinguishing characteristics. They are visualised as lotuses with a different number of petals in every chakra.

The chakras are thought to vitalise the physical body and to be associated with interactions of a physical, emotional and mental nature. They are considered loci of life energy, or prana, (also called shakti, or chi), which is thought to flow among them along pathways called nadis. The function of the chakras is to spin and draw in this Universal Life Force Energy to keep the spiritual, mental, emotional and physical health of the body in balance.

The seven basic chakras are Sahasrara (crown), Ajna (third eye), Vishuddha (throat), Anahata (heart/lung), Manipura (solar plexus), Swadhisthana (sacrum) and Muladhara (root).

Traditional Chinese medicine also relies on a similar model of the human body as an energy system.
find out more by contacting a specialist >>

Articles Associated with Chakra Balancing